• English German Dutch Danish Chinese
this is harz


Walpurgis Night

Die Walpurgisnacht am 30. April ist ein altes heidnisches Fest, welches seinen Namen von der heiligen Walburga hat, deren Fest am 1. Maitag stattfindet. In dieser Nacht flogen die Hexen vermutlich auf ihren Besen zu alten heidnische Opferstätten im Harz, vor allem zum Brocken. Der Brocken, der höchste Berg im Harz, gilt als der Mittelpunkt der Walpurgisnacht. Auch bekannt als der Blocksberg, ist der 1142 Meter hohe Gipfel oft in Nebel und Wolken gehüllt, wodurch eine geheimnisvolle Atmosphäre geschaffen wird, die zu dem legendären Status als Heimat der Hexen und Teufel beigetragen hat. Sie tanzen um ein Feuer und beten ihren Herren, den Teufel, an, der ihnen neue magische Kraft schenkt.

Der Schriftsteller Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (1749-1832) schrieb in Faust, dass die Hexen zur Walpurgisnacht kommen und singen: "Die Hexen zu dem Brocken ziehn.Die Stoppel ist gelb,die Saat ist grün.Dort sammelt sich der große Hauf, Herr Urian sitzt oben auf.............."

Heute wird diese Nacht als Anlass für Feiern und Partys mit der ganzen Familie genutzt. Sie werden Hexen und Teufel in der ganzen Stadt sehen und Menschen aus ganz Deutschland und der Welt kommen , um diese Nacht zu feiern. Vorbuchungen für diesen Zeitraum sind dringend zu empfehlen. In Schierke finden bis zu 20000 Menschen Platz. Die Walpurgisnacht ist nicht nur für die Partylöwen ,sondern auch für die Familien ,ein großer Spaß. Die Kindern können sich verkleiden und die Nacht vermittelt ein sehr kinderfreundliches Gefühl. Um Mitternacht wird der Anfang der Frühlings mit großen Krach und Feuerwerken begrüßt , um die Hexen zu vertreiben.

• English German Dutch Danish Chinese


Walpurgis Night

Walpurgis Night on April 30 is an old pagan festival, which borrowed its name from Saint Walburga whose feast occurs on May Day. On this night witches are believed to ride on broomsticks to places of old pagan sacrifices in the Harz Mountains, especially to the Brocken. The Brocken, the highest peak in the Harz Mountains, is considered the focal point of Walpurgisnacht. Also known as the Blocksberg, the 1142-meter peak is often shrouded in mist and clouds, lending it a mysterious atmosphere that has contributed to its legendary status as the home of witches (Hexen) and devils (Teufel). There, they dance around a huge fire and worship their lord the devil, who bestows them with new magic power.

The writer Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (1749-1832) in Faust writes that the witches come on Walpurgis night and sing: "Now to the Brocken the witches ride; the stubble is gold and the corn is green; There is the carnival crew to be seen, And Squire Urianus will come to preside. So over the valleys our company floats, with witches a-farting on stinking old goats."

Today in Harz it is used as a time for celabration and party for the whole family. You will see witches and devils walking around the towns, people come from all over Germany and the world to celbrate this event. Booking ahead is advisable for this time. In Schierke over 20,000 people can meet up. Walpurgis evening is a fun time for all the family not just for the party animal. Children can dress up in various costumes and the night has a very child friendly feeling. At midnight the beginning of Spring is launched with much noise and fireworks to drive the witches away.